Personal

To the friend whose life is falling apart…

Stay.

Do not give up.

Trust Him.

I can’t tell you that I know exactly what you’re going through, because every person’s struggles are different. I can’t say that I know how you feel, because your chemical and emotional makeup are not the same as mine. Your life experiences have molded you into the person you are today, and that person is beautiful.

That is something I want to stress. Whatever is happening in life to get you down, or to scare you, or to make you feel small, it does not diminish your beauty or worth. Who you are is not dependent on what you succeed or fail at. You are a cherished creation of God, and nothing can ever take that away. He has known you from the start, and it never mattered what you did or what happened to you, He has loved you before you even existed. I know it may not feel like that right now. I know it feels like He is very far away, and that there is no sense in anything that is happening.. But if you turn to Him, He’ll be right there to catch you. I just know it.

jer-31.jpg

On the subject of nothing making sense, I completely understand that feeling. I have been so lost before, sitting in the middle of a storm without an umbrella just crying because I thought I was surely going to drown. I have been angry; I have yelled; I have beat the steering wheel in frustration. There have been many times in my life, friend, that I have felt like the world was ending, and that there was just nothing good that could come out of my situation. If you had told me then that this is where my life would be now, I would have probably laughed in your face. There seemed to be no way out of my mess. The best thing that I can promise you is that there is not a mess too gross or a storm too big for Him to handle. Don’t just take my word for it, though. Take His.

Things are hard right now. I can see that. I can see the struggle. I may not know the struggle, but I see it. Struggling means something monumental, though. It means that you haven’t given up. Friend, you cannot give up.

There are such great things in store for you. You are a mountain-mover! You may feel small and weak, but with God’s strength and your faith in Him, even if its hanging by a thread, you can do all things!

5322e0053f128f394462c076.jpg

You have such power inside you, even if you can’t see it right this moment. God has given us a Spirit of power and self-control, not fear. Fear is the easiest thing in the world sometimes. It is easy to shrink back from what life throws at us and to hide under the covers and to just wish it would go away. I am telling you, you can make it go away.

I could keep throwing Bible verses at you, but there is something else I need to say.

7cb1ccb989538ee98232043a048ef2dd

I am not going anywhere. I am here. I will walk through this fire with you. I may not understand how much it hurts at times, but I can promise you it is hurting me, too. Seeing you struggle and question and grasp at seemingly nothing is hard for me to watch. I cannot just watch anymore.

You are my family. I don’t care what you do, what you say, or where you go. You are my blood, and I will never abandon you. I don’t know what I can do, but I can stand outside in the rain and hold the umbrella for you if that’s what you need. I can.

My life is not perfect. I am a wreck 97% of the time. I do not say any of this out of pity or snootiness. I am deeply concerned for you, and I pray for you daily. Sometimes all day. You are so strong, but sometimes, we need others to hold us up because we have been trying too hard for too long. I will hold you up. Lean on me. I will lean on Christ. We will limp out of this together. There is a light at the end of the tunnel. There is a light that never goes out.

3667274ed460dce6f2ae30190d46e6f8.jpg

I am not perfect. But I am here.

Don’t give up.

Stay.

Leave a Reply

